super-doper-crazy-wazzy-golfie-do-dah ‎

4 Jan

The hack* writer of such tat as Huckleberry Finn once said that “golf was a good walk spoiled”.  That might be true in some cases, but a round of crazy golf at Carlucciland in Wellington is more of an adventure than either Huck or Tom took on.

Holy, sweet, triple bogies Carlucciland is the best crazy golf course I’ve ever played.  From the table of putters laid out like a medieval torturer’s table of pain to the dazzling array of coloured golf balls- pinks, greens, blues reds, yellow and not one dull white ball in sight. Then onto 18 holes of rocks, metal sculptures, pipes, tunnels, leaf blowers and skulls. For a taste check out the snaps below, but before you do here is the golf report.

My competitors on this day were the ‘other half’ and her sister who’d flown down from Auckland for a couple of days. Of course it was in the stars, tea leaves and my head that I would win and I’d simply let the siblings tear strips off each other for second place honours. That was the plan. This was the outcome.

I lost.

I could rattle off a ton of excuses but that is not something I’m prepared to do, although the 15 I have are very well justified. And as a born bad loser who still remains a bad loser and will always be a bad loser I have to grudgingly congratulate the other half’s sister for winning the game (Christ that last bit was hard to type).

The silver lining is that I will return one day to that Craziest of Crazy golf courses and pick up my blade and once again take battle and yell ” For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever and ever.”

* This was a reference to Mark Twain who is a much more betterer writer than me. But, I reckon I could take him in a ‘pun’ war as my use of the word ‘hack’ to describe a bad writer while at the same time being commonly used in golfing terminology is another superb hit to the old punny bone – see here.

blades

Select your weapons.

course

a bit of the course (sensible section)

skulls

some of Girls Aloud watch the action unfold

blueball

blue ball on the move

spinny

more tubes and chutes

round tree

the continuing adventures of the blue ball

setup

a beautiful, text book putting setup – look at the hands!

4 Responses to “super-doper-crazy-wazzy-golfie-do-dah ‎”

  1. Pip Jackman January 5, 2013 at 3:07 am #

    The ‘golf’ shoes are rather classy!!

  2. doug January 6, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    So pleased that on the other side of the world you are getting beat in some golfing capacity!!! Looks an awesome course.

  3. Pip January 7, 2013 at 4:33 am #

    What I want to know is, who came second?! I rather think, that because it wasn’t mentioned, the author above came 3rd?

    • Nicola January 7, 2013 at 5:02 am #

      It second equal- we were both 4 shots behind Rach. Paul says he was like Jesus in that he sacrificed for the greater good. However, I think he was like Jesus in that he was crucified.

Leave a Reply

